Critiquing Catchy Real Estate Slogans

I was recently interviewed by  Toby Welch (I designed her website by the way. Check out the cool typing effect) for an article about slogans and taglines for a Canadian real estate publication called REM – Realtor Magazine Online. I was provided 9 different slogans from Realtors who agreed to the critique and Toby then solicited their rebuttal.

My original comment was that when it comes to slogans, no slogan is better than a bad one, but what I learned from the rebuttals is that sometimes it is not always about applying “marketing speak” to everything, but being comfortable in your decision. In the case of slogans they are personal and as they say “if the shoe fits, wear it”. I wrote an extensive post about slogans and taglines which you can read here.

I still say there are a few basic questions you have to ask yourself when developing or critiquing your own slogan;

  1. Does it answer the reader’s question about what’s in it for me?
  2. Does it answer the reader’s question about how this will help me?
  3. Does it solve a problem the reader might have related to your product or service?
  4. Is it about the reader or about you?

You can read the article online by clicking here.

If you prefer to download a pdf click here.

Need a Slogan or Tagline?

I will create a tagline / slogan for you. All I need from you is a few minutes of your time to complete a simple questionnaire and I will do the rest. I will provide about 5 concepts for you to choose from. We will narrow it down to the best 2 and refine those to the point where you can choose the one that fits best. Elapsed time from receipt of the questionnaire from you is less than 72 hours.

The fee for this service is $ 199.00 (USD or CDN) payable by credit card. What’s the catch? There is none. If you are not completely satisfied with the results then there is no fee. There is no payment required until you have submitted the questionnaire.

In addition, I can help you integrate your new slogan or tagline into your marketing and if you require a logo, stationery package, website or advertising I can help you there too.

Call Mike Blaney at 800-568-8338 or email me at marketingguy@shaw.ca to get started.

If you enjoyed this article and don’t want to miss the next one click here to get my marketing posts by email as soon as they are published. You will be prompted for an email address and you are set to go.

This entry was posted in Marketing, Personal Branding. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Critiquing Catchy Real Estate Slogans

  1. Ken Williams says:

    Hey Mike, great article on Critiquing catchy real estate slogans in the REM magazine but you missed mine! IF YOU CAN’T SELL YOUR HOME… ” I KEN ” i have this slogan Trademarked in Canada and the United States of America. Cheers Ken

  2. Will says:

    Hi there Mike,

    The name of the magazine you were interviewed for is actually REM – Real Estate Magazine.

    The article is available on our website at this address: http://www.remonline.com/home/?p=4496

    Visiting this page is likely easier than flipping through the online version of the paper. Be sure to check out our other articles!

    Thanks for a great interview!

  3. Writing a real estate slogan is a lot harder than it seems. I’ve struggled for years!

  4. Claire STROUSE says:

    I would like a real estate slogan to match my name strouse.

    • Mike Blaney says:

      Claire:

      Thanks for visiting my marketing blog. Are you interested in me developing a slogan /tagline? To answer your question if I had to pick a word to rhyme with Strouse I think it is the word house, but you already new that. My fee is $199.00. Please let me know if you would like my services.

      Mike Blaney
      800-568-8338
      604-618-5512
      http://www.themarketingguy.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

