Why Won’t They Call Back or Answer My Email?

I always thought people didn’t respond to my calls, proposals and letters because they didn’t like me, but then I got thinking that they hadn’t met me so how could they not like me? There must be another reason. I am also perplexed why my emails go “unreplied” to.

So off to a marketing monastery (Actual picture of the light at the end of the tunnel) I went to contemplate the question “why don’t people respond to a contact” and here is what I came up with:

Even if people have an interest in what you are offering they do not usually respond the first time they receive an offer. The short answer is because it’s human nature.

People may have every intention of doing so, but for one reason or another, they don’t respond.

1. People procrastinate.

2. People get side-tracked by something else.

3. People need to think about it–and then forget it.

4. People don’t have the money right now.

5. People are busy and they have a million other things they have to do before they can seriously consider your offer.

6. People have issues that won’t allow them to respond now, but those issue may change completely in a few months.

Then I started looking at my “To Do” file folder and my “Neat Ideas” file folder and I realized I have dozens of flyers, emails, letters, post cards, etc. of offers that I am interested in, but I put them aside with every intention that later I will study them more closely and make a decision then.

What can we learn from this? Keep trying to make contact until you are told otherwise as it is not a rejection, it’s a part of the sales process. 95% of the time when I contact people who seem to have died their response is “Thanks for calling I have been meaning to call you for….”

But what about people not responding to your emails even though they might have initiated the inquiry?

Or you can run, but you can’t hide from my emails.
Mike Brooks, author of “The Ultimate Book of Phone Scripts” wrote a great article about “How to Get a Response from Dead Prospects ” in a newsletter I subscribe to called Broker Agent Social. Essentially he recommends using humor as a way of reconnecting with someone who probably falls into one of the 6 categories above. Here is the email he recommends:

Subject of your email: “Should I stay or Should I go?

“_________ While I’ve tried to reach you, I haven’t heard back from you and that tells me one of three things:

1) You’ve already chosen another company for this and if that’s the case please let me know so can I stop bothering you,

2) You’re still interested but haven’t had the time to get back to me yet

3) You’ve fallen and can’t get up and in that case please let me know and I’ll call 911 for you…

Please let me know which one it is because I’m starting to worry…

Thanks in advance and I look forward to hearing back from you.”

I think this is a great idea and plan to use it myself.

If you enjoyed this article and don’t want to miss the next one click here to get my marketing posts by email as soon as they are published. You will be prompted for an email address and you are set to go.

This entry was posted in Prospecting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

