The Secret Life of Name Tags

Blue name tag revThere is a website called “Hello My Name Is Scott” that takes name tags as a marketing tool to a whole new level. Whenever I work with companies in the public eye one of my first recommendations is to have the staff and management wear name tags.

The first time this became obvious to me was at a local coffee shop called Delany’s. The Barista would ask what I wanted to drink, ask my name and write it on the receipt. When my drink was ready they would call out “Mike” and away I went. Over time they called me by name to greet me and I had no clue what their names were. I discussed this with the owner and told him this was making me feel uncomfortable as I was not greeting the servers as warmly as they were greeting me. A few days later all of the staff were wearing name tags and I have formed great relationships with many of them. Goes to prove I drink too much coffee.

Now back to Scott. If you go to his website the first thing he asks is your name (actually your email address before you can access his amazing articles. Seconds later an email arrives:

Greetings new friend!
This is Scott Ginsberg, aka “The Nametag Guy.” Welcome to The Nametag Network! You now have full access to my entire Online Approachability Library. That includes:

*700+ pages of articles
*8+ ebooks
*HELLO, my name is Ezine, a twice-a-month newsletter packed with practical tips, videos and posts!
*Lifelong learning resources about Approachability. Marketing. Branding. Networking. Communication Barriers. Approachable Service. Creativity. Entrepreneurship. Listening Skills. Becoming Unforgettable, and more!

To get you started, check out this free ebook called “117 Phrases That Payses” by clicking here:
http://www.hellomynameisscott.com/phrasesthatpayses.pdf

HELLO, my name is Scott!
7563 Oxford Drive #2S
St. Louis, MO 63105
(314) 256-1800
scott@hellomynameisscott.com

Now this is a guy who lives his passion. On April 24th, 2006, he took the day off to celebrate and reflect on the past 2000 days of wearing a nametag 24-7. (as I get older I wish more people wore name tags…with big print)

He has some great articles that provide great insight into customer service and marketing.  When you click on these you will have to log in to continue, but it is worth it:

One of my favorite articles is called “Phrases that Payses” and it is a great sequel to the post I wrote on “Great One-Liners” that has been popular.

Here are some of Scott’ phrases, but I would read them all:

Nobody’s ever asked me that before!
Shows you don’t have all the answers, nor have you heard everything before. Pause before answering. Your sincerity and honesty will be reinforced with your response.

I don’t fully understand; tell me more.

Approachability is about curiosity, not judgment. Before making a reactionary mistake (like yelling “What!
Are you out of your freaking mind?”), this relaxing statement keeps the conversation cool. Also shows your desire for clarification.

I’m sorry. You lost me.
Great phrase to use against a know-it-all who won’t shut up. Use it to gain clarification and keep them accountable.

I never thought of it that way.
Most people are too proud and too close-minded to show openness to new ideas. This phrase compliments someone and shows lack of judgment. What’s more, it offers your willingness to hear someone out. (It’s amazing how few people say this.)

What did you say your name was?

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Mario Parise says:

    Mario. My name is Mario. Thanks for asking!

  2. Scott.

    Thanks for the link love!

  3. David says:

    Very informative post and I agree that nametags are great to build a relationship

  4. I have forgotten who it was but I first found out about your website from a link posted on Twitter. . I really love the stuff I have read on your blog and plan to keep reading when I find more time. Do you have a Twitter profile?

    1. Mike Blaney says:

      My Twitter name is GoodIdeas

Leave a Reply

