Stevens, Get Me a Slogan!

Bewitched 1Strange title for a post, but it will make sense if you read on. At the end of this post I am going to make you a special offer to develop a tagline or slogan for you for a lot less than you think it would cost.

Do you remember the TV show called Bewitched? It ran from 1964 to 1972 and consisted of 254 episodes. The focus of the show is on the mixed marriage of a nose-twitching witch, Samantha Stephens, and her mortal husband, Darrin an advertising executive. My fondest memory is hearing Darrins’ boss Larry, yell at Darrin “Stevens, I need a slogan”. (I was cut out for marketing at an early age I guess.)

In searching the scripts he might not have said this exact phrase, but following is a reference to the idea.

ENDORA (thoughtfully) – Samantha, is it really true that if Durwood could think up more of those so-called…”Phrases” he would be more successful doing whatever it is he does.

SAMANTHA- Of course. Advertising men get paid a lot of money to come up with clever slogans.

Two of the most popular search terms to reach this marketing blog are “Slogan” and ” Tag Line or Tagline” so there must be a lot of people looking for the perfect tagline. I have written a couple of posts on the topic and they are both read often:

Creating the Perfect Tagline
Writing a Slogan or Tagline

I assume readers are looking for ideas and while I provide lots of samples, dreaming up a slogan for yourself is more difficult than it appears. Firstly defining the difference between a tagline and a company slogan is important. While not a universal definition slogans can change from campaign to campaign, while a tagline is created to last.

So here’s the offer.

I will create a tagline / slogan for you. All I need from you is a few minutes of your time to complete a simple questionnaire and I will do the rest. I will provide about 5 concepts for you to choose from. We will narrow it down to the best 2 and refine those to the point where you can choose the one that fits best. Elapsed time from receipt of the questionnaire from you is less than 72 hours.

The fee for this service is $ 199.00 (USD or CDN) payable by credit card. What’s the catch? There is none. If you are not completely satisfied with the results then there is no fee. There is no payment required until you have submitted the questionnaire.

In addition, I can help you integrate your new slogan or tagline into your marketing and if you require a logo, stationery package, website or advertising I can help you there too.

Call Mike Blaney at 800-568-8338 or email me at marketingguy@shaw.ca to get started.

If you enjoyed this article and don’t want to miss the next one click here to get my marketing posts by email as soon as they are published. You will be prompted for an email address and you are set to go.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Julianne says:

    I am searching and searching for a way to help my brother with his restaurant business as most of you know is a 24/7 job and does not pay off too much. It is all in the joy of making people happy. I came upon this site and thought why not, a new slogan, these things are catchy and attract people. If there is a time to get people to notice him, it is now. I will be in touch. You have some fantastic ideas and I need not go on to look for anyone else. I have confidence you are the one who is going to make a difference in my brother’s life. I have to thank you for putting yourself out there so honestly. Talk soon.

Leave a Reply

