Taking Advertising to the Streets

Just when you thought you had seen the last new outdoor advertising technique along comes a newStreet Ad 1 advertising service in the UK called Street Advertising Service that has taken advertising to um…new lows.

Thanks to Springwise, my source for everything new in marketing I learned about this great new advertising medium. I am not sure how long the ads last before they fade away, but for a viral marketing program I think this would work well.

Street Ad 2The British company’s Street Art service uses high-pressure cleaning machines to wash brands, logos and advertisements on to dirty pavements. Clients provide their design and SAS turns it into a giant stencil. Working at night, the SAS team blasts the stencil with water and steam on dirty walls, roads, pavements or even road signs. The result is a sparkling clean image inStreet Ad 3 the shape of the company’s logo or message. Nothing but water and steam are used, and it’s all perfectly environmentally friendly and legal, SAS stresses. Pricing for a street art campaign with 15 to 20 adverts throughout a city begins at 1,000 pounds per city plus initial setup costs. Clients so far have ranged from newly opened businesses to global brands.

The idea for the service, which launched last year, came to founder Kristian Jeffrey out of sheer frustration. Jeffrey explains: “I run several small online businesses, and was searching for cost-effective advertising to attract consumers to my sites. My potential customers were walking around me every day, and it was when I was walking through the dirty streets of London that the idea came to me: why not take advertising literally to the street? Having experimented with several different methods, we wanted to apply a technique that was not just eye-catching and effective but also friendly to the environment. What could be more natural than water?”

If you enjoyed this article and don’t want to miss the next one click here to get my marketing posts by email as soon as they are published. You will be prompted for an email address and you are set to go.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Dave Shepard says:

    Great article, I saw some advertisingguerrilla.com adverts on the wall of my local council car park, added a bit of fun to the boring dull building. Why dont they paint them bright colours or something? They were right at the entrance, the first thing i noticed was they were advertising guerrilla advertising space, which made me laugh. I hope the irony isnt wasted on everyone. Easily the best advert I have seen since the Cadburys Gorrila.

Leave a Reply

