Google 411

Just when you thought you have seen everything along comes another innovation from Google. I don’t want this bloggoog411-logo to turn into an ad for Google, but some of the things they are working on cannot be ignored by marketers.

I just ran across Google 411. Did you know you can send a text message containing your search query, such as [ cafe seattle wa ] or [wx 02139], to 466453 (GOOGLE on most phones) to get information such as local listings, weather, movie show times, sports scores and more.

I am not the most prolific text messager in the world, but I was able to type 466453 into the To: box and Weather vancouver bc into the Message box and in seconds a three day forecast for Vancouver was sent to me by text message.

I then got adventurous and typed Pizza Vancouver bc into the subject field and in seconds I had the phone numbers for three pizza places.

Ever the optimist I typed Marketing north vancouver bc… and my name was not displayed so that proves it is not perfect, but worth a try.

I cannot forecast how people will embrace this form of search, but now that I have tried it I will definitely us it again. I am going to look further into how a company can improve their ranking in the search results as this is potentially a new source of business for some companies.

If you enjoyed this article and don’t want to miss the next one click here to get my marketing posts by email as soon as they are published. You will be prompted for an email address and you are set to go.

Leave a Reply

