New Diamond Shreddies – A New “Spin”

I think this is an absolutely brilliant re-branding of a mature product. It not only made me laugh, but made want to buy a box of Shreddies.

How did I hear about this?

My 25 year old son called me from the car and asked if I had seen the new Shreddies billboard. That may seem odd, but he knows I like Shreddies and he knows I love a good laugh, but I was skeptical whether he could relate over the phone what was on the billboard and have me see the humor.

Well it worked. He said, “Dad there is a picture of a square Shreddie with the caption old,boring and beside it is a Shreddie rotated 45 degrees with the caption “New Diamond Shreddies”. I laughed out loud and I had not even seen the billboard.

Here is what the billboard looks like.
Diamon shreddies-ooh-02

Here is what the new cereal box packaging looks like.
diamond-shreddies-pack
If you enjoyed this article and don’t want to miss the next one click here to get my marketing posts by email as soon as they are published. You will be prompted for an email address and you are set to go.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. laure says:

    there is no possible choice since a diamond has 2 long shapes and 2 short!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! not 4 of the same size 😉

  2. marge says:

    The mathematical definition of a “diamond” or rhombus, is a parallelogram with four congruent sides. A square fits that definition. A square IS a special diamond. The diamond on a playing card is a non-square diamond.

Leave a Reply

