The Top 5 Reasons People Unsubscribe From Newsletters

Do you email a newsletter or other publication to subscribers? Do you subscribe to RSS feeds or Fortune-Cookieemail newsletters?

I have two marketing tools I use that have subscribers; a monthly newsletter for my email stationery clients (www.inboxfx.com) and this blog which has almost 300  subscribers. Thanks to all of you for giving me the incentive to keep posting) I attract subscribers to this blog by adding the following to the bottom of the email.

If you enjoyed this article and don’t want to miss the next one click here to get my marketing posts by email as soon as they are published. You will be prompted for an email address and you are set to go.

According to an Epsilon and ROI Research study, 55% of email subscribers in the US and Canada unsubscribe from opt-in emails occasionally—and 14% do so frequently.

The top 5 reasons people give for unsubscribing are as follows:

  1. 67% – Irrelevant content
  2. 64% – Receive too frequently
  3. 50% – Think their email address is being shared or sold
  4. 48% – Don’t recall signing up
  5. 32% Privacy concerns

Since my content is relevant, and not too frequent and I never sell or share an email address or disclose my recipient’s names I get very few unsubscribers and I hope this post doesn’t remind people they are bored.

Leave a Reply

